oh I say, england beat australia


It’s just a provocative headline folks, a bit of wishful thinking on my part. But as every national UK newspaper seems to regard England’s chances of beating Oz tomorrow in the rugby WC as catwalk model slim, I thought I’d redress the PR balance a bit. I have to admit I’m not super confident but this WC is throwing up some extraordinary matches and results. I’ve just got a sense that England, against all odds, could spring a surprise result courtesy of Johnny Wilkinson’s boot – again. Is anybody else out there grasping at such hopeful straws? Thought not.

The QF is after all the scene of England’s most glorious and consistent defeats, in every frigging international sporting competition. I’m staggered that we actually won two world wars. On recent form we should have been knocked out by  Italy in the QF in Abyssinia. But we didn’t  because we are English and have a habit of getting up national noses (see ‘national dirges’ posting). But that ability was largely Victorian/Churchillian. Now our abilities are largely Winehouse/Chanellian. Hey ho.

Anyway, supposing we don’t quite make it, what of the remaining QF matches?  NZ v France is hard to call too. France have buggered up this tournament but have the ability to turn it around except this time I doubt they’ll have the stomach for it. Unless they get a fast start.  NZ have faced nothing but second teams so far and must be rusty. But I take NZ to just get through. Oooh I’m a hard gambler. SA v Fiji. Please let it be Fiji but you sense they’ve had their personal cup final v Wales  and on Sunday the Boks will storm it.  Arg v Scotland is perhaps the best face-up over the w/e.  I’ve had a hunch about Scotland all the way through and despite my  admiration for the Pumas, I think the Scots lads might just sneak it. My mates Scott and Gavin would be in fine voice if they did. Either way this match I’d be happy.

So what do you guys think?

pp

This entry was posted in rugby by Paul. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paul

Having decided on a change of life by moving home from the UK to Italy, this is the story and thoughts of a man on a personal journey from the Blackpool Tower to the Leaning Tower of Pisa, in search of la dolce vita. After several olive harvests he's now back in London but en route he shares his very personal perspectives on life.

5 thoughts on “oh I say, england beat australia

  1. thank you m

    i think you fancy that knowing that you’ve already stuffed england once but surely they couldn’y play as badly again….? anyway just the small matter of nz or fr first!
    fpb

  2. Sien

    Why believe that a side we know about, meet every year and whose players are club mates and league opponents to our squad would beat us?

    Yer man above, Macinjay, gets my vote for the final two.

    Have faith, and remember Agincourt

    PGOB

Leave a Reply

