trees


After 3 days of really lovely weather the forecast here today is for showers. That’s a bit of a bugger as I’ve been trying to get the garden a little clearer. I’ve been collecting all the pruned off-cuts from the olive trees and chopping off the bigger bits for kindling, our stock of which has run out. It’s already taken me several days and I’m only half-way through. Until I’ve collected it all I can’t really cut the grass.  But the grasses and weeds are growing rapidly  and more rain makes working in the garden impossible (plus it stimulates even more growth). I’m wading through thigh-high grass already and it’s a little unnerving knowing the wildlife we get out here. I saw a neighbour using a scythe on his land the other day and I’m tempted to get one too. I can’t see the strimmer getting through this.

Anyway if it does rain I’ll spend the day on the computer no doubt. But I was hoping that someone out there may be able to recognise one of the trees on our property. It’s just flowered with all this pink/purple blossom and it has been stunning. It’s a little past it’s best now:-

But does anybody know what these trees are called as I’m tempted to go and try and buy some more and it would be nice to ask for something specific rather than describe it in mangled italglish with my usual comic style.They are quite common around here – here’s a shot across the valley to a neighbour’s house with the tree to the right of the house:-

It’s a little indistinct but see the bottom right hand corner of the shot.

On the way over to Rome last week these trees were growing wild everywhere  and the scenes through the mountain vallies with these cerise splashes throughout the lush greens was just stunning. The blossom looks a bit cherry-like but i don’t think they are. Later they will produce seed pods which look a little like green beans. Anyway all suggestions gratefully received. 

pp

ps take a look at the fir cones on the tree next to the pink one. it’s a big tree right at the front of our home and there must be a million budding cones on it. the tree is a real pest because it drops tons of needles and sap all over the place but the cones are great for the fire – because of all the oil in them, so we should be ok for cone fuel this winter.

Leave a Reply

