looking back


I’m conscious that I’ve done just 5 postings on the blog since late October – none at all during November. Looking back I see I did 50 postings last December alone. I know that was a personal challenge but I must have been flowing with creativity as I was regularly doing 30-40 postings a month at the time. Indeed my average of a posting a day since starting this blogsite back in May 2007 has been badly affected of late, not because I’m losing interest – far from it – but simply because online access has been haphazard and time/opportunity limited whilst we’ve been back in the UK.

Anyway once my daughter S introduced me to the benefits of mobile broadband, our online access became more assured. We were using 3’s version of the modem and it was brilliant. What a great boon it is for the traveller. I hope I won’t have to rely on internet cafes again!

And now that we are back in Italy I should have a little more time to catch up on the blog and re-build some traffic to the site. We were getting nearly 8000 visitors a month before we left for the UK but it has dropped significantly as there’s been jack all to read. Anyway it would be nice to get some people back reading the blog and if possible to achieve the 75,000 visitors mark before year’s end. 

I’d better get writing some interesting stuff in that case. I’ll continue to mix it up and keep the subject matter varied even though everyone tells me this is the least helpful way to build an audience. But since when did I listen to sound advice? Anyway I just write about personal experiences or thoughts based on what I observe and admire or dislike. And I hope that just occasionally it touches a nerve or makes someone smile or even grimace with outrage. Any reaction other than indifference.

pp

This entry was posted in numbers, PERSONAL STUFF and tagged , by Paul. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paul

Having decided on a change of life by moving home from the UK to Italy, this is the story and thoughts of a man on a personal journey from the Blackpool Tower to the Leaning Tower of Pisa, in search of la dolce vita. After several olive harvests he's now back in London but en route he shares his very personal perspectives on life.

Leave a Reply

