music not to drive to


So this Easter weekend we headed to our old friends L&S up in Wetherby to help with the re-laying of their patio. Hard work but it turned out pretty well and we had a swell time as ever. Anyway it was a longish drive and we didn’t get away until after 4.30pm as daughter R has landed herself a great little work experience project in a famous little cafe/restaurant overlooking the river (very proud parents). I love to drive with the radio on and it has to be talk-based for me but the girls hate it. So after an hour or so of 5 live and a bit of Radio 4 I had to bow to the inevitable and tune in to something, anything, music-based. Groan.

I don’t really know where my music bone’s gone. I really dislike listening to Radio 1 now, especially all that house/garage/rap stuff. It just seems like stealing (sorry sampling) a hook from something original from the 60’s-80’s then shouting something street and vaguely rhymey over the top of it – with attitude, man. To think that great black American music to me was classically jazz, blues and, my absolute ¬†favourite, soul music (or is that R&B now?). Otis Redding must be turning in his grave listening to today’s so-called ‘ganstas’.

R wanted something middle of the road like Heart or Magic FM but I’m rarely in the mood for Westlife and Duran Duran these days. And so I compromised on Radio 2 – it’s full of stuff I quite like. Except that last Thursday night at a little past 7pm I’d tuned into Bob Harris’ Country programme. If I don’t like rap then I absolutely detest C&W. Who the hell listens to this miserable backwoods slide guitar drivel? Probably the same people who enjoy line dancing and dressing up like cowboys/girls on cold Wednesday nights in Dewsbury.

After 10 minutes of this country pain I had to scan over to the next station on the tuner. And the song that came up was from New Zealand’s finest band…..it’s not a long list….Crowded House. You’ll know the song but here are the lyrics:

Walking ’round the room singing “Stormy Weather”
At 57 Mt. Pleasant Street
Well, it’s the same room, but everything’s different
You can fight the sleep but not the dream

Things ain’t cooking in my kitchen
Strange affliction wash over me
Julius Caesar and the Roman Empire
Couldn’t conquer the blue sky

Well, there’s a small boat made of china
It’s going nowhere on the mantlepiece
Well, do I lie like a loungeroom lizard
Or do I sing like a bird released


Everywhere you go, always take the weather with you
Everywhere you go, always take the weather
Everywhere you go, always take the weather with you
Everywhere you go, always take the weather
The weather with you


Everywhere you go (everywhere you go)
Always take the weather with you
Everywhere you go (everywhere you go)
Always take the weather
Everywhere you go (everywhere you go)
Always take the weather with you
Everywhere you go, always take the weather
Take the weather, the weather with you


Everywhere you go


Everywhere you go, always take the weather with you
Everywhere you go, always take the weather
Everywhere you go, always take the weather with you
Everywhere you go, always take the weather
Take the weather, the weather with you


Well I can just about figure out the sense of the first verse but I’ve no idea what verses two and three are about. But it doesn’t really matter because the whole song burns on the money line ‘take the weather with you’. It’s a nonsense line of course but its endless repetition is enough to drive anyone crazy whilst driving. Not least me. The lyrics above don’t even cover off the endless chorus sung between verses. It’s like the musical equivalent of Groundhog Day.

As it happens the video of the band playing WWY isn’t so bad. It’s here for you to enjoy/endure. If you can think of a more repetitive line within a song, I’ll send you some of our very own Pasta Paulie olive oil picked and processed with my very own gnarled hands. Enjoy…

pp

Leave a Reply

