Another one bites the dust


I may be getting a bit obsessional about this topic but indulge me by seeing how quickly you can identify this brand:

–  formed the year I was born, 1952, in Newcastle upon Tyne

–  the company employs 20,000 people and generated revenues of nearly £750M in 2012

–  it’s marketing face is the luckiest man on TV Paddy McGuinness

–  their strapline is ‘the home of fresh baking’ and they sell sandwiches, sausage rolls and doughnuts. Millions of them and, if truth be told, the occasional Cornish pastie to me.

Yes of course its Greggs and at the last count they had 1671 outlets throughout the UK. Well one fewer than that actually because last week this was the scene we faced on Teddington’s Broad St:

Image

Yes our local Greggs had closed without warning. What the …..? This rash of retail closures on our high streets is turning into an epidemic. This isn’t like the Dreams closure that I mentioned a few postings ago. Everything in Greggs’ product range sells for less than £3 and they rely upon high volumes of traffic every day. Their shop in Teddington is/was two doors away from Tesco’s, our largest retailer and I’ve never seen it empty. I thought it had to be one of the most popular shops in the town but not popular enough it seems. Jeez if Greggs can fold then there’s no hope for any small retailer I fear. We’re going to be swimming in a sea of charity shops, hairdressing salons and nail bars. Not a lot of appeal for me I’m afraid.

And I’m going to miss those pasties….

pp

2 thoughts on “Another one bites the dust

Leave a Reply

