The C word


Well I think most people will have twigged by now from the occasional asides I’ve been dropping into recent postings that I was diagnosed with cancer a couple of months ago. Bummer eh. Anyway 7am tomorrow I’m off to hospital for surgery to remove the carcinoma from my bowel and any surrounding tissues. Then 6 months of chemotherapy beckons. I’ve had lots of cards, calls and texts today from friends and family wishing me well which is very kind. Then tonight a pleasant evening’s few drinks and meal at the infamous Anglers with my family. None for me of course.

Life’s a challenge sometimes and this has been a difficult year after losing my mum in February. I’ve been keeping a cancer blogdiary for some weeks now as that seems like the must-do thing to do these days. I was going to publish it but it’s full of stuff like ‘went to the shop to buy a paper; read paper’ and so on. Actually it’s not as bad as that but it is so easy to get overly self-absorbed about this condition. I’ll see what it looks like after a bit of judicious editing. But you do get attuned to cancer news – it seems like every day it’s announced that somebody has got it or has died from it. And the ads on the tv and radio drive you nuts because you simply can’t filter them out.  But I’m determined to see off this dreadful disease, at least long enough for me to see my grandsons play for Man Utd. That’d be a sweet reward. Meanwhile I’ll be offline for a few days of course then hopefully back to top blogging form in a week’s time or so. Till then dear readers.

pp

This entry was posted in PERSONAL STUFF and tagged , , , , , by Paul. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paul

Having decided on a change of life by moving home from the UK to Italy, this is the story and thoughts of a man on a personal journey from the Blackpool Tower to the Leaning Tower of Pisa, in search of la dolce vita. After several olive harvests he's now back in London but en route he shares his very personal perspectives on life.

4 thoughts on “The C word

  1. Hi Paul. Was rather hoping it was the other C word when I saw the headline… hope it all goes ok, we’ll be thing about you. I look forward to reading all about it soon. John

    • Hi J
      Many thanks for your concern mate. As you can see I’m up and about so I must have survived – bit of a story to tell (as ever with me) but will update the blog with all the gory details.
      pp

  2. Best of luck with everything that’s going on with your life Paul, I am sending all the vibes I can muster over to you.

Leave a Reply

