Interesting day


Well a truly interesting day. I picked up a message this morning from WordPress, the platform providers for my blog site, that it’s exactly 8 years since I started writing and ranting as Pasta Paulie, when we moved to Italy. Blimey. Around 845 separate posts, something over a million words and almost 280,000 visits later I’m still doing it and a few people still check by – thank you so much for your perseverance folks.  I’m now writing for a living as many will know – you’d have thought I’d have run out of opinions by now. No chance.

But more importantly today’s also election day in the UK where we now are permanently based again of course. As a student of political history I’m always fascinated by results night and here I am watching the analysis on BBC and will be here until the wee small hours as the prediction, at 10.30pm with no results actually declared as yet, is that the Tories will be the largest party but short of an overall majority. Ooh it’s going to be another  cracking cliff-hanger.

However the most pleasing result of the day was in the constituency of West Middlesex at our local hospital where I met my oncologist today after a series of tests and probes over the last few weeks. I’m delighted and relieved to report that there’s no sign of my cancer returning and I’ve been given another 6 months decent life ticket before I have to go through it again. The very good news is that they think they can give me 3 years grace before sending a film crew up the Orinoco again. Wooo hoo!

I saw and met a number of people in the waiting area for whom the outcome of the election won’t matter very much. Sigh. It made me reflect that I’m a very lucky chap in so many ways and will be making the most of my 6 month pass.

pp

This entry was posted in PERSONAL STUFF and tagged , , , , by Paul. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paul

Having decided on a change of life by moving home from the UK to Italy, this is the story and thoughts of a man on a personal journey from the Blackpool Tower to the Leaning Tower of Pisa, in search of la dolce vita. After several olive harvests he's now back in London but en route he shares his very personal perspectives on life.

4 thoughts on “Interesting day

  1. Only you could make such a serious subject funny! I hadn’t realised you write as a job, although I’m not at all surprised. Do you write for a newspaper? Don’t know if you’ve seen the Alan Bennett interview at Hay on the iPlayer. Well worth a watch

  2. Aw thank you Alison. I’m not a columnist for a newspaper, as much as I’d like to be. I’ve had some work published but I don’t really push ideas at editors hard and often enough to get picked up. When i get some time I will do it but increasingly I write for companies doing copy writing and web-site content. I also do writing jobs for people eg CVs, personal profiles, blogs etc . I’m also doing a daily diary on behalf of my youngest grandson which allows me to have a lot of fun mostly at my own expense and I’ve started a sit-com script with an old friend. Finally I’m always one day away from starting a book about the embarrassingly large number of truly embarrassing moments in my life which I’ve catalogued into just the 4 volumes so far. How my wife and family have stayed fond of me over the years I’ll never know.
    pp

Leave a Reply

