Sweet


Well you kinda had to experience the 70’s, the decade that fashion forgot so they say and the years of the creepy DJ’s and prawn cocktails,  to comment on it.  Well it was a notable decade for me – the one in which I had long hair, went to Uni, grew a moustache,  got married, started my 30 year career in BT, moved to London, had our 3 lovely daughters (well one born in 1980), moved onto the property ladder, and by the end of it lost the moustache and much of my hair and gave up competitive football. Ahh I loved those 10 years, even the loon trousers and the glam rock music.

But I have to confess that whilst I was a bit of a fan of Gary Glitter (I know I know, I mean his music of course) and T Rex I never thought much of the band The Sweet. They were neither outrageously ridiculous like GG nor edgy pretty boys like Marc Bolan et al. The lead singer had a girl’s blonde hair and the bassist liked his mascara and lippy a bit too much. Plus they also recorded some very crappy songs like Little Willy (it’s true), Wig-wam Bam, Poppa Joe etc. So it comes as a little bit of a surprise to find one of their songs (albeit probably their best) currently being used heavily on two current tv adverts. Take a look…

Firstly on the trailer for the film Suicide Squad

Then an ad which I like a lot for Smart Energy GB featuring their little brand icons Gaz and Leccy…

But it wouldn’t be fair to end the posting without giving those of my readers who were too young to remember the fabulous 70’s, a video of the band Sweet playing their big hit on Top of the Pops. Watch out for the cringey ready Steve? bit at the front. Unbelievably it’s 43 years ago that this was screened. I was half way through Uni at that point. I am definitely getting old! Anyway enjoy…

Any music from the 70’s brings back memories for you? Were you even there?

pp

Leave a Reply

